Day 64-65: China - Lanzhou
We are taking the train again, this time only about 3 hours to the capital of Gansu Province - Lanzhou. I have been in this city several times, and I am really sorry to say this, but I HATE THIS CITY! It is dirty, crowded, loud and NOT pretty! It is famous for its noodle soup with beef. I am sorry again, but I have had better noodle soup in other places of China. Last time I arrived in this city by train from Lhasa, my ears felt like they would explode any minute. This time I was surprised by a huge construction site, muggy weather, sitting in a heated taxi, stuck in the traffic, sweating, well...it's Lanzhou!

Why do I go to this city? Well, it has to offer one of the best museums I have seen in China. Everyone who ever makes it to this place, DON'T EVER SKIP THIS PLACE! It's worth going...Some of China's most famous archaeological finds can be seen in this museum, besides they have real coffee, freshly brewed for only 10 Kuai (about 1 Euro). Yippi!

Here are some of my favourite exhibits:


This time the real one...may I introduce to you - the celestial aka the flying aka the galloping bronze horse from Wuwei!


A hair-made football dating from Western Han dynasty (206 BC - 9 AD)


More than 2000 years old lacquered wooden chopsticks

You think this is old? Well, wait...


Fossil dating back about 145 million years ago

Not impressed? Well...


And...what's for breakfast?...how about a dinosaur egg?