Day 57: China: Korla – Turtle Power
Yes, I did make it to the next station of my itinerary! And yes, I have to admit that I doubted this after I got the message at the airport that my flight would have a delay. Anyway, after a flight of only about 40 minutes and some heavy turbulences inside a sandstorm, I arrived in Korla – the capital of the Bayin'gholin Mongol Autonomous Prefecture. The airport was one of the smallest ones I have ever seen in China. Somehow I felt like in one of those black and white movies when I left the aircraft on the staircase and walked over the runway to the waiting hall. There was only one hall, so everything worked out quite fast.

After I checked-in the hotel named “Rose Hotel” we went for dinner. Some of you guys might not like me anymore when I tell you know what I ate – I ATE A CUTE TURTLE! Yes, I can’t deny it! And you know what...I even documented everything with my camera – me holding the shell of the turtle with my chopsticks! I AM AWFULLY SORRY! PLEASE FORGIVE ME! You want to know what it tasted like? Well, something like chicken…
After dinner I took a stroll through the city – a city much different than any other places I have seen in Xinjiang. Very green, clean and a beautiful river inviting the people for pleasant walks or romantic boat-trips for two.


Finally arrived in Korla...


Boating on the river


Balloons for everyone


Night market full of food


Korla at night...


...sooo romantic ;)


winnie0990, 05. Mai 11
Believe me or not....what U ate was not a "REAL" turtle....he's one of relatives of turtle.......maybe turtle's brother...I don't like it either.................